Sunday, July 27, 2008


Thanks to Bollewangenhaptoet for this meme.

1. What was I doing 10 years ago?

10 years ago I was 23 and living in Sokcho on the far north-east coast of Korea - a hop skip and jump (literally!) from the DPRK (North Korea). I’d finished my grad. Dip. In Korean and decided to live in the countryside to escape people who wanted to speak English to me while riding on the bus. It worked! People in the country don’t speak English like they do in the big cities. I was teaching English to University and mature age students, learning how to make Korean chilli paste and kimchi in the traditional manner from the Grandma who lived downstairs.

2. What are 5 things on my to-do list today- not in any particular order?

3. Snacks I enjoy.
Fruit. Especially pineapple and berries.

4. Places I’ve lived
The Mornington Peninsula, Preston, Clayton, Mitcham, Kew, Hawthorn – all suburbs of Melbourne. Forshaga and Tystberga in Sweden. Seoul, Pusan, Ilsan and Sokcho in Korea.

5. Things I would do if I were a billionaire
Have a heartattack! After I’d done that I would buy nice houses for my immediate family members. Start a charity of some kind and start my own business.

6. What are some jobs you’ve had
Tour guide, television presenter, TV extra, teacher, insurance underwriter, translator, Telstra slave, lolly shop worker (awesome!), Mum.


Amelia said...

so many similarities! i lived in japan for a bit when i was 18, did some time as a telstra slave, have trouble getting baby bear's teeth brushed. great to read about you and discover your blog.

x Amelia

A said...

I know! I loved discovering your blog from the 'This is' on Three Buttons. Aren't blogs awesome!?